section header

2014 Midsummer Mozart Festival

Tickets will be available from June 1

This year's two week season will run from July 17 through July 27.

We will include the magnificent Piano Concerto No. 20 in d minor, K. 466 with our beloved Seymour Lipkin as soloist. Our superb wind section will be featured in the Gran Partita: Serenade No. 10, K. 370 in B flat. We are also thrilled to announce that the San Francisco Boys Chorus, conducted by their world-renowned, director, Ian Robertson, will be joining us in a program of choral music. And how could we present our 40th Anniversary season without giving you the incomparable 40th Symphony in g minor?

About the Festival

A beloved Bay Area institution, the Midsummer Mozart Festival was founded in 1974 by George Cleve and a regional consortium of classical musicians, who recognized him as one of the world's great interpreters of the music of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Read full bio here.

So now coming into our 40th Anniversary season, the Festival is still the only music festival in North America dedicated exclusively to Mozart. Under the baton of Maestro Cleve, the Festival presents a critically-acclaimed summer concert season featuring renowned international soloists as well as distinguished local artists, with a dedication to fresh and intelligent interpretation of the work of this most enduring and universally loved composer. Our mission embraces both performances of the highest artistic excellence, and cultivation of new audiences, including young people, to assure the future appreciation of great music, and the arts.

The Festival is grateful for sustaining support from The San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund Grants for the Arts. Season sponsors include David W. Packard, Gundlach Bundschu Winery, The Berkeley City Club, KDFC and many generous individuals.

Kamio Mayuko plays Mozart's sonata for violin & piano K.304 (second movement)

Rebecca Davis aria highlights, including the Contessa aria from Mozart's "The Marriage of Figaro"

Audrey Vardanega plays Mozartís Piano Concerto in C, K.467